Y

MAY 2009

Stockpile Destruction (Article 4)

Prepared by Human Rights Watch

Article 4 of the Mine Ban Treaty obligates all States Parties to destroy their antipersonnel mine stockpiles, and all antipersonnel mines under their jurisdiction or control, as soon as possible but no later than four years after entry-into-force of the treaty for each country. **There is no provision for extension of this deadline**.

A total of 85 States Parties have completed the destruction of their stockpiles, collectively destroying 43 million antipersonnel mines.

Landmine Monitor estimates that about 13 million antipersonnel mines remain to be destroyed by five States Parties that still have to complete their stockpile destruction programs (Belarus, Greece, Kuwait, Turkey, and Ukraine). Iraq may also have stockpiles of antipersonnel mines (see below).

The excellent record of compliance with this core obligation of the treaty has been tarnished by three States Parties--Belarus, Greece, and Turkey--which missed their stockpile destruction deadlines on 1 March 2008 and, more than a year later, have still not yet met their obligations.

Notable Developments since June 2008

States in Violation of Article 4

Belarus appears to be moving toward the tendering stage in its arrangement with the European Commission for destruction of PFM mines, but there is no date projected for the completion of the destruction.

Greece is shipping most of its 1.6 million mines to a destruction facility in Bulgaria and expects to have transferred them by October 2009. But it is unclear when destruction will be finished. More than 171,000 mines have been destroyed to date.

Turkey confirmed that it has destroyed all of the fuzes for its antipersonnel mines. As of March 2009, it had destroyed more than 1.2 million of its 2.9 million mines. Capacity problems at its destruction facility have slowed progress, and Turkey expects to complete destruction in early 2010.

States Declaring No Stockpiles

Two States Parties completed their destruction programs:

- Indonesia destroyed a total of 11,603 antipersonnel mines, completing destruction of its stockpile on 13 November 2008, well before its treaty-mandated deadline of 1 August 2011. Stockpiled mines were destroyed in several different stages and locations throughout the year. Indonesia reports retaining 4,978 mines under Article 3 for research and training purposes.
- Ethiopia announced in a statement on International Mine Action Day on 2 April 2009 that it completed the destruction of 55,569 stockpiled antipersonnel mines. According to Norwegian People's Aid, Ethiopia will retain 1,114 mines for research and training purposes. As of 19 May 2009, Ethiopia had not submitted an annual update to its Article 7 transparency measures report detailing the stockpile destruction.



Haiti and Palau provided initial transparency reports, which indicate that they do not stockpile antipersonnel mines.

Iraq stated in its initial Article 7 report in 2008 and its annual update in 2009, "As reported by the different ministries and other role players, Iraq holds no stockpiles of Anti-Personnel Mines. However, this matter will be further investigated and if required, corrected in the next report." Thus, it remains uncertain if Iraq has stockpiled antipersonnel mines that must be destroyed within the four-year treaty deadline.

Bulgaria, **Burundi**, **the Republic of Congo** and **Tajikistan** reported on newly discovered stockpiles of antipersonnel mines. Bulgaria, Republic of Congo, and Tajikistan reported on the subsequent destruction of the mines. Some of the newly discovered mines in Burundi were turned in by a non-state armed group and others were found in a cache.

States with Upcoming Deadlines

- **Kuwait** has not submitted an annual update to its transparency report, as of 19 May 2008, thus it is unclear what measures, if any, it has taken to begin destruction of its declared stockpile of 91,432 antipersonnel mines. Its destruction deadline is 1 January 2012.
- **Ukraine** and the European Commission have not resolved issues related to EC assistance for destruction of PFM mines. At the Ninth Meeting of States Parties in November 2008, Ukraine said that it would only be able to destroy half of its stockpile by the deadline of 1 June 2010 without international assistance.

Compliance with Article 4: Status of Stockpile Destruction Efforts, as of May 2009

85 States Parties have completed destruction of their stockpiles

Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Chad, Chile, Colombia, DR Congo, Republic of Congo, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Djibouti, Ecuador, El Salvador, Ethiopia, France, Gabon, Germany, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Honduras, Hungary, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia FYR, Malaysia, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Moldova, Montenegro, Mozambique, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Norway, Peru, the Philippines, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sudan, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Uganda, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Yemen, Venezuela, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

¹ Cape Verde has never submitted an initial Article 7 report (due 30 April 2002) or otherwise formally confirmed destruction of its stockpile, but a NATO report stated Cape Verde destroyed its stockpiles in June 2007. It destruction deadline was 1 November 2005.





64 States Parties have officially declared not having a stockpile of antipersonnel mines	Andorra, Antigua & Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Brunei, Burkina Faso, Central African Republic, Comoros, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Côte D'Ivoire, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Eritrea, Estonia, Fiji, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Holy See, Iceland, Iraq, Ireland, Jamaica, Kiribati, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Nauru, Niger, Niue, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Qatar, Rwanda, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome & Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Solomon Islands, Swaziland, Timor Leste, Togo, Trinidad & Tobago, and Vanuatu.
2 States Parties are in the process of destroying their stockpiles	Kuwait (deadline is 1 January 2012) and Ukraine (deadline is 1 June 2010)
3 States Parties in the process of destroying their stockpiles have passed their stockpile destruction deadline	Belarus, Greece, and Turkey
2 States Parties are late to declare any stockpiles by failing to submit an initial Article 7 report	Equatorial Guinea and Gambia (neither is believed to possess stockpiles)



