Transparency Measures (Article 7)

Prepared by Human Rights Watch

Article 7 of the Mine Ban Treaty states that "Each State Party shall report to the Secretary General of the UN as soon as practicable, and in any event not later than 180 days after the entry into force of this Convention for that State Party" regarding steps taken to implement aspects of the convention. Thereafter, States Parties are obligated to report annually, by 30 April, on the preceding calendar year.

Transparency reports are posted to the following publicly-accessible websites: <u>disarmament.un.org/Mine-Ban.nsf</u>(1999-2004 reports) and <u>www.unog.ch/80256EE600585943/(httpPages)/A5378B203CBE9B8CC</u> 12573E7006380FA?OpenDocument (reports since 2005).

States Parties can submit their report to: aplc.article7report@unog.ch.

Decreasing Rate of Annual Updates Submitted

Updates submitted in 2009 (as of 20 May)

- Total needing to report: 152
- Total submitted: 69
- Not submitted: 83
- Compliance so far this year: 45%

Updates submitted in 2008

- Total needing to report: 146
- Total submitted: 90
- Not submitted: 56
- Compliance: 62%

- Total needing to report: 142
- Total submitted: 91

Updates submitted in 2007

- Not submitted: 51
- Compliance: 64%

Updates submitted in 2006

- Total needing to report: 139
- Total submitted: 99
- Not submitted: 40
- Compliance: 71%

The rate of compliance for annual reports for calendar year 2005 was 62 percent, 65 percent for calendar year 2004, 78 percent for calendar year 2003, and 62 percent for calendar year 2002.

Low Rate of Annual Reporting for 2008 (due by 30 April 2009)

69 States Parties have submitted annual updates (as of 20 May): Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Burundi, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Rep. of Congo, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Eritrea, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Iraq, Japan, Jordan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia FYR, Mauritania, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Peru, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Senegal, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Trinidad & Tobago, Turkey, Uganda, United Kingdom, Ukraine, Yemen, Zambia.

1502-1 Nicholas Street Ottawa, ON K1N 7B7 Canada Tel: +1-613-241-3777 Fax: +1-613-244-3410 www.lm.icbl.org



Ζ

Σ

ш

Ζ

Σ

Ζ

4

83 State Parties have not submitted (as of 20 May): Afghanistan, Angola, Antigua & Barbuda, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Colombia, Comoros, Congo DR, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Dominica, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Holy See, Honduras, Iceland, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Lesotho, Liberia, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, Norway, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Philippines, Rwanda, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome e Principe, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, St Kitts & Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent & Grenadines, Suriname, Swaziland, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Zimbabwe.

Three States Parties Still Have Not Submitted Initial Reports

Late initial reports: Cape Verde (due 30 April 2002), Equatorial Guinea (due 28 August 1999), Gambia (due 28 August 2003).

Initial reports recently submitted: Haiti (on 30 March 2009, due 27 January 2007), Iraq (on 25 August 2008, due 30 July 2008), Palau (on 26 November 2008, due 28 June 2008).

Voluntary Reporting Continues

In 2009, Morocco submitted its third voluntary report and Poland submitted it's seventh.

Azerbaijan submitted a voluntary report in 2008, Mongolia in 2007, and Sri Lanka in 2005.

50 States have Habitually Not Submitted Annual Updates

Have Not Submitted Reports for the Past Two Years: Angola, Bhutan, Brunei, Cook Islands, El Salvador, Honduras, Jamaica, Mozambique, Niue, Paraguay, Philippines.

Have Not Submitted Reports for the Past Three Years: Belize, Bolivia, Guyana, Lesotho, Malaysia, Maldives, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Swaziland, Turkmenistan.

Have Not Submitted Reports for the Past Four Years: Antigua & Barbuda, Barbados, Botswana, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Comoros, Costa Rica, Djibouti, Fiji, Gabon, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Kiribati, Liberia, Malawi, Mali, Nauru, Panama, Papua New Guinea, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & Grenadines, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Timor-Leste, Togo.

States that have Used Transparency Reports to Address Special Issues of Concern

States Using Expanded Form D to Report on Retained Mines: Afghanistan, Argentina, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Indonesia, Japan, Latvia, Mauritania, Nicaragua, Peru, Portugal, Rwanda, Serbia, Tajikistan, Turkey, United Kingdom.

States Using Expanded Form B to Report on Newly Discovered Stockpiles of Mines: Bulgaria, Burundi, Tajikistan. (The Republic of Congo in 2009 reported the discovery of additional mines in Form G).

States Reporting on Claymore Mines and OZM-72 Mines and Steps Taken to Ensure Command-Detonation Only: Afghanistan, Algeria, Bangladesh, Belarus, Brunei, Denmark, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, New Zealand, Norway, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom, Zimbabwe.



