





FACT SHEET

Mine Ban Treaty Transparency Reporting (Article 7)

18 June 2015

Article 7 of the Mine Ban Treaty requires that each State Party "report to the Secretary General of the United Nations as soon as practicable, and in any event not later than 180 days after the entry into force of this Convention for that State Party" regarding steps taken to implement the treaty. Thereafter, States Parties are obligated to report annually, by 30 April, on the preceding calendar year.

Initial reports

All States Parties have submitted their initial transparency report except Tuvalu, which was originally due by 28 August 2012, and Oman, which has a reporting deadline of 31 July 2015.

Annual updates

As of 18 June 2015, only 37 % of States Parties had submitted annual updated reports for calendar year 2014, due by 30 April 2015. This represents an all-time low in compliance with the transparency obligation. The annual reporting rate has diminished in recent years with only 50–60% of States Parties submitting annual updates.

A total of 101 States Parties have not submitted a report for calendar year 2014:

Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Brunei, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central Africa Republic, Chile, Comoros, Congo (Rep. of), Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Cote d'Ivoire, Croatia, DR Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Lesotho, Liberia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Mauritius, Moldova, Monaco, Namibia, Nauru, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Philippines, Romania, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and Grenadines, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Tanzania, Timor Leste, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Yemen, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

This group includes:

• 64 States Parties that have failed to submit an annual transparency report for two or more years.



Mine Ban Treaty Transparency Reporting

- 12 States Parties with declared Article 5 mine clearance obligations (Angola, Chile, Croatia, DR Congo, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Niger, Senegal, Somalia, South Sudan, Yemen, and Zimbabwe).¹
- Yemen, where forces loyal to the previous government used antipersonnel mines in 2011; subsequently Yemen took some measures to ensure compliance, but recent activities are unknown.

Voluntary reports

No state submitted a voluntary report in 2014 or the first half of 2015. In previous years, Morocco (2006, 2008–2011, and 2013), Azerbaijan (2008 and 2009), Laos (2010), Mongolia (2007), Palestine (2012 and 2013), and Sri Lanka (2005) submitted voluntary reports.

¹ Five additional states that have yet to submit Article 7 reports for calendar year 2014 have not declared that they have (or still have) Article 5 obligations, but the Monitor believes they may be mine-affected and thus their fulfillment of their treaty obligations may be in doubt: Djibouti, Moldova, Namibia, Palau, and the Philippines. See <u>Landmine</u> <u>Monitor 2014</u>, p. 24-25.