





FACTSHEET

Mine Ban Treaty Transparency Reporting (Article 7)

May 2013

Transparency reporting is critical to the continued health of the Mine Ban Treaty. Not only is it the primary vehicle for making clear what obligations apply and what progress has been made towards meeting them, but detailed reporting also builds the case for seeking and receiving international cooperation and assistance.

As of 22 May 2013, only 58 States Parties had submitted reports for calendar year 2012, constituting only 37% of States Parties required to submit annual updates. <u>A total of 97 States</u> <u>Parties are late in submitting their annual updates</u>. This appears to be headed toward the lowest annual compliance rate in the past decade.

Greece is included in the list; it has been in non-compliance with its stockpile destruction deadline since March 2008.

There is a marked reduction of quality in the reporting in recent years, despite efforts to encourage States Parties to maintain high standards. For example in one case, the forms on the status of mine clearance programs are left blank despite that state having clear Article 5 obligations, which it has addressed in previous reports. In the case of mines retained for training, only partial information or minimal information is more often than not provided. Additionally, opportunities for voluntarily providing supplementary data are not taken, such as for victim assistance.

Equatorial Guinea (due 28 August 1999) and Tuvalu (due 28 August 2012) have not submitted an initial transparency report. Poland is due to submit its first report as a State Party on 28 November 2013, after submitting voluntary annual reports for nine years. Finland, Somalia, and South Sudan submitted their initial reports since the last intersessional meetings.

have not submitted a report for calchaar year zorz					
Angola	Bhutan	Bosnia and Herzegovina	Congo, Dem. Rep. of	Congo Rep. Of* Niger	
Denmark*	Ethiopia	Guinea-Bissau*	Mauritania		
Palau	Serbia	South Sudan	Sudan	Senegal	
Uganda*	Thailand	Venezuela	Yemen	Zimbabwe	

20 States Parties with mine clearance obligations have not submitted a report for calendar year 2012

* States that declared completion of their clearance obligations in 2012 but still need to provide details of clearance activities in 2012.

13 States Parties with significant numbers of survivors	
have not submitted a report for calendar year 2012	

					, •••• =• ·=		
	Angola	Bosnia and Herzegovina	Congo, Dem. Rep. of	El Salvador	Ethiopia		
Guinea-Bissau		Nicaragua	Senegal	Serbia	Sudan		
	Thailand Uganda		Yemen				



Mine Ban Treaty Transparency Reporting (Article 7)

May 2013

39 States Parties that retain mines have not submitted a report for calendar year 2012

Angola	Australia	Bangladesh	Benin	Bhutan		
Bosnia and Herzegovina	Botswana	Cape Verde	Congo, Rep. of	Congo, Dem. Rep. of		
Denmark	Djibouti	Ethiopia	Greece	Guinea-Bissau		
Honduras	Indonesia	Kenya	Mali	Mauritania		
Namibia	Nicaragua	Nigeria	Portugal	Rwanda		
Senegal	Serbia	Slovakia	Sudan	Tanzania		
Thailand	Togo	Tunisia	Uganda	Uruguay		
Venezuela	Yemen	Zambia	Zimbabwe			

Year Last Transparency Report Received

2000	Antigua and Barbuda St. Lucia	_	Sao Tome e Principe Suriname Venuetu	Malaysia Mauritania Mauritiua
2002	Oshar	- 2009	Vanuatu	Mauritius Monaco
2003	Gabon Sierra Leone	2000	Cameroon Cape Verde	Nigeria Niger
2004	Barbados Fiji	-	Congo Dominican Rep. Haiti	Norway Palau Philippines
	Central African Rep. Grenada Guinea Kiribati Liberia	2010	Malta Panama Papua New Guinea Tanzania	Portugal St. Kitts and Nevis Senegal Serbia Slovakia
2005	Nauru St. Vincent and the Grenadines Timor-Leste Togo		Brunei Guyana Kuwait Malawi Namibia	Sudan Thailand Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Uganda
2005	Bahamas Djibouti Costa Rica	2011	Paraguay Turkmenistan	Venezuela Yemen Zambia
2006	Mali Seychelles		Cook Islands Guinea-Bissau Lesotho	Zimbabwe
	Bolivia Maldives Swaziland	2012	Madagascar Nicaragua	
2007	Bhutan Honduras Jamaica Niue	-	Angola Australia Bangladesh Belize Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana	
2000	Benin Burkina Faso Iceland Kenya Dominica Rwanda Samoa	-	DR Congo Denmark El Salvador Ethiopia Greece Guatemala Indonesia	