





June 2011

Mine Ban Treaty Transparency Reporting (Article 7)

Article 7 of the 1997 Mine Ban Treaty states that "Each State Party shall report to the Secretary General of the United Nations as soon as practicable, and in any event not later than 180 days after the entry into force of this Convention for that State Party" regarding steps taken to implement aspects of the convention. Thereafter, States Parties are obligated to report annually, by 30 April, on the preceding calendar year.

- As of 16 June 2011 only 44% of States Parties had submitted reports for calendar year 2010. This appears headed toward the lowest annual compliance rate in the past decade. 1
- Only 68% of States Parties with Article 5 mine clearance obligations submitted reports covering 2010.
- Expanded Form D on retained mines was utilized by 61% of States Parties that submitted reports covering 2010.
- No States Parties used Form B to report on newly discovered stockpiles of mines.
- 38% of States Parties had not submitted an annual transparency report in at least two years, and 19% of States Parties had not submitted a report in at least five years.
- Equatorial Guinea remains the only State Party to have never submitted an initial transparency report (due 28 August 1999).
- Treaty signatory Poland submitted its ninth voluntary transparency report and state not party Morocco submitted its fifth voluntary report.²

69 States Parties have submitted reports for 2010

Algeria	Andorra	Argentina	Australia	Austria
Belarus	Belgium	Bosnia and Herzegovina	Brazil	Bulgaria
Cambodia	Canada	Colombia	Congo, DR	Croatia
Cyprus	Czech Republic	Denmark	El Salvador	Eritrea
Estonia	France	Germany	Greece	Guatemala
Guinea-Bissau	Holy See	Hungary	Iraq	Ireland
Italy	Japan	Jordan	Latvia	Liechtenstein
Lithuania	Luxembourg	Macedonia, FYR	Malaysia	Mauritania
Mexico	Moldova	Monaco	Montenegro	Netherlands
New Zealand	Nicaragua	Norway	Peru	San Marino
Portugal	Romania	Serbia	Slovenia	South Africa
Spain	Sudan	Sweden	Switzerland	Tajikistan
Thailand	Trinidad and Tobago	Tunisia	Turkey	Ukraine
United Kingdom	Venezuela	Yemen	Zambia	

Note: States Parties with Article 5 mine clearance obligations are noted in *italics*.

¹ The final rate of compliance was 60% for calendar year 2009, 64% for calendar year 2008, 62% for calendar year 2007, 64% for 2006, 71% for 2005, 74% for 2004, and 79% for 2003.

² In previous years, Azerbaijan, Mongolia, and Sri Lanka submitted voluntary reports. Signatories Cameroon, Gambia, and Lithuania also provided voluntary reports prior to entry into force of the treaty for them. Other countries have stated their intention to submit voluntary reports, including Armenia, China, and Lao PDR.



42 States Parties used expanded Form D to report on retained mines

Argentina	Australia	Belarus	Belgium	Bosnia-Herzegovina
Brazil	Bulgaria	Cambodia	Canada	Croatia
Cyprus	Czech Republic	Denmark	Eritrea	Germany
Greece	Guinea-Bissau	Iraq	Ireland	Italy
Japan	Jordan	Lithuania	Mauritania	Netherlands
Peru	Portugal	Romania	Serbia	Slovenia
South Africa	Spain	Sudan	Sweden	Tajikistan
Thailand	Tunisia	Turkey	Ukraine	United Kingdom
Venezuela	Yemen			

12 States Parties with Article 5 clearance obligations did not submit reports for 2010

Afghanistan	Angola	Burundi	Chad	Chile
Congo, Republic of	Ecuador	Ethiopia	Mozambique	Nigeria
Senegal	Uganda			

59 States Parties have not submitted a report in two years

oo otatoo i artioo havo not oabiinttoa a report in two years					
Antigua and Barbuda	Bahamas	Barbados	Belize	Benin	
Bhutan	Bolivia	Botswana	Burkina Faso	Cameroon	
Cape Verde	Central African	Comoros	Congo, Republic of	Cook Islands	
	Republic				
Djibouti	Dominica	Dominican Republic	Equatorial Guinea	Fiji	
Gabon	Ghana	Grenada	Guinea	Honduras	
Iceland	Jamaica	Kenya	Kiribati	Lesotho	
Liberia	Madagascar	Maldives	Mali	Malta	
Mauritius	Nauru	Niger	Niue	Palau	
Panama	Papua New Guinea	Rwanda	Samoa	Sao Tome e Principe	
Seychelles	Sierra Leone	Solomon Islands	St. Kitts and Nevis	St. Lucia	
St. Vincent and the	Suriname	Swaziland	Tanzania	Timor-Leste	
Grenadines					
Togo	Uruguay	Vanuatu	Zimbabwe		

31 States Parties have not submitted a report in at least five years

• •			,	· · · · ·
Antigua and Barbuda	Barbados	Belize	Bolivia	Botswana
Central African	Comoros	Djibouti	Equatorial Guinea	Fiji
Republic				
Gabon	Ghana	Grenada	Guinea	Kiribati
Lesotho	Liberia	Maldives	Mali	Nauru
Papua New Guinea	Seychelles	Sierra Leone	Solomon Islands	St. Kitts and Nevis
St. Lucia	St. Vincent and the Grenadines	Swaziland	Timor-Leste	Togo