





June 2011

## **Convention on Cluster Munitions Transparency Reporting (Articles 3 and 7)**

Article 7 of the Convention on Cluster Munitions states that "Each State Party shall report to the Secretary General of the United Nations as soon as practicable, and in any event not later than 180 days after the entry into force of this Convention for that State Party" regarding steps taken to implement aspects of the convention. Thereafter, States Parties are obligated to report annually, by 30 April, on the preceding calendar year. States Parties have agreed to include in Article 7 reports information on retained cluster munitions and submunitions required by Article 3.

- As of 16 June 2011, 74% of States Parties with expired deadlines had met their obligation to submit an initial transparency report. All States Parties with Article 5 clearance obligations met this reporting obligation.
- Though all forms should be completed in initial transparency reports, many States Parties did not complete all forms or did not include sufficient detail.
- Under Article 3 of the convention States Parties must submit detailed reports on the planned and actual uses of retained cluster munitions and explosive submunitions. Few States Parties included such details in their initial transparency reports.
- An additional 16 States Parties are obliged to submit an initial transparency report no later than 180 days after entry into force, including two with Article 4 clearance obligations.
- Two signatories to the convention (Canada and the Democratic Republic of the Congo) submitted voluntary initial transparency reports.
- Only one State Party (Norway) submitted both an initial transparency report and an annual transparency report covering 2010.

## 29 States Parties have submitted initial transparency reports

Albania	Austria	Belgium	Burkina Faso	Burundi
Croatia	Denmark	France	Germany	Holy See
Ireland	Japan	Lao PDR	Luxembourg	Malawi
Malta	Mexico	Moldova	Montenegro	New Zealand
Norway	Portugal	San Marino	Sierra Leone	Slovenia
Spain	United Kingdom	Uruguay	Zambia	

**Note:** States Parties with Article 4 clearance obligations are noted in *italics*.



## 10 States Parties have outstanding initial transparency reports

Macedonia, FYR	28 January 2011
Nicaragua	28 January 2011
Niger	28 January 2011
Samoa	30 March 2011
Ecuador	30 April 2011
Fiji	30 April 2011
Lesotho	30 April 2011
Seychelles	30 April 2011
Mali	30 May 2011
Guatemala	28 October 2011

## 18 State Parties have upcoming deadlines for initial transparency reports

0	20 1 20044
Comoros	30 June 2011
Antigua and Barbuda	31 July 2011
Tunisia	28 August 2011
Monaco	28 August 2011
Bosnia and Herzegovina	28 August 2011
St. Vincent and the Grenadines	28 September 2011
Lebanon	28 October 2011
Panama	28 October 2011
Guinea-Bissau	28 October 2011
Cape Verde	28 October 2011
Chile	28 November 2011
El Salvador	28 December 2011
Netherlands	28 January 2012
Ghana	28 January 2012
Mozambique	28 February 2012
Lithuania	28 February 2012
Costa Rica	29 March 2012
Bulgaria	29 March 2012

Note: States Parties with Article 4 clearance obligations are noted in italics.